ROD EWING ON NUCLEAR WASTE TECHNICAL REVIEW BOARD



Rod Ewing has been appointed to the Nuclear Waste Technical Review Board (NWTRB) by President Obama. Rod is the Edward H. Kraus Distinguished University Professor in the Department of Geological Sciences at the University of Michigan, with faculty appointments in the Departments of Nuclear Engineering & Radiological Sciences and Materials Science & Engineering. He was also a visiting professor at the Center for International Security and Cooperation at

Stanford University for the 2010–2011 academic year.

The NWTRB (www.nwtrb.gov) is an independent agency of the U.S. federal government that provides independent scientific and technical oversight of the Department of Energy's program for managing and disposing of high-level radioactive waste and spent nuclear fuel. The Board evaluates the technical validity of U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) activities and provides objective expert advice on nuclear waste management to Congress and the Secretary of Energy. The Board is made up of 11 members, including two other geoscientists: George M. Hornberger, appointed in 2004, is a Distinguished University Professor at Vanderbilt University, where he is the director of the Vanderbilt Institute for Energy and the Environment. William M. Murphy is a professor in the Department of Geological and Environmental Sciences at California State University, Chico, and was appointed in 2006. His research focuses on geochemistry, including the interactions of nuclear wastes and geologic media.

GEOLOGICAL SOCIETY OF AMERICA AWARDS

Several awards were presented at the Geological Society of America annual meeting, including the following two to members of our community.



Susan L. Brantley, professor of geosciences, Pennsylvania State University, received the Arthur L. Day Medal for her work in the successful application of chemical kinetics to the interpretation and synthesis of observations of geochemical processes in natural systems. She has led efforts to understand why rates of geochemical reactions differ between field and laboratory settings, and she does research to understand biological control on rates of geo-

chemical processes. Brantley's Gold Medal lecture was titled "Back to the future as a geochemist."



The Subaru Outstanding Woman in Science Award was presented to Naomi E. Levin, assistant professor, Johns Hopkins University, for her 2008 PhD research, which has had a major impact in the fields of paleoclimate, paleoecology, and human origins. Levin's dissertation, titled "Isotopic Records of Plio-Pleistocene Climate and Environments in Eastern Africa," looks at how landscapes and terrestrial organisms responded to past climate

perturbations.

change and provides perspective on the effects of future climate

