

# **Geochemical Society**

# www.geochemsoc.org

### FROM THE PRESIDENT



The past two years have been a time where we tried to negotiate a post-pandemic world. The pandemic brought many challenges, but also opened the opportunities for remote participation in conferences in various forms—first coming to be as an online mode, followed by a hybrid mode. Going forward, a major topic of discussion is what the shape of future conferences will be. Meeting people face-to-face and chance interactions are what have made conferences what they are—the primary

mode of exchange of ideas and discussion of results. However, for a lot of people—caregivers, people strapped for travel funds, people affected by travel restrictions (e.g., visa requirements), and many more—the online mode opens up possibilities to participate that did not exist before. These modes come with different demands on finances. One of the major topics of ongoing discussion is which features of a hybrid conference are most useful and how to best optimize costs versus utility. This discussion will probably continue for some time to come, but in the end, we are certainly going to have more inclusive conferences that bring together an wider array of people than has been the case in the past. It has been a privilege to observe this transition happening from the front row. I welcome all of you to chip in with your thoughts, opinions, and suggestions—just drop a mail to me.

Increased mobility and ability to communicate are opening up participation in conferences and other activities (e.g., workshops) to a population from a much wider section of the globe. In particular, the demographics of Goldschmidt conferences has shifted substantially—a large section (more than 35% at the last couple of conferences) of participants are students and early career scientists. Participation in conferences or writing research grant proposals is no more the domain of seasoned veterans, and this has also brought forth the need for mentoring. The Geochemical Society and the European Association of Geochemistry have jointly launched a round-the-year mentoring program (different from the well-established and used programs at Goldschmidt conferences). I request those of you who are in a position to be mentors to volunteer for this program—there are mentees who are looking forward to help from you.

It seems it was just the other day that I was writing you at the start of my term as President of the Geochemical Society; now it is already my last column—Liz Sikes will be taking over as President in 2024. The time has gone by quickly, or at least it seemed so, not least because all of youexclusively volunteers in one form or the other—have stepped in to help in the various tasks involved in the running of the Society. One of the real joys of the job was to look at the list of volunteers each year—people who put up their hands to put in their time for the various committees that are so central to the operation of the Society. Without you, the Society would not function. These committees put forward items on which the Board of the Society acts to take decisions. These have not always been easy choices, but the Board, also made up of elected volunteers, always discussed matters professionally with respect for alternate opinions and reached decisions in a timely manner. To prepare for the meetings, and to handle various day-to-day matters, the GS executive (Past-President Vickie Bennett, Vice-President Liz Sikes, and Executive Director Kevin Johnson) met weekly for congenial but productive chats. It is a measure of the commitment and application of Kevin Johnson and Madeline Burris at the Geochemical Society office that people are often surprised to hear that the society office operates with a staff of only two people (unlike many larger societies). Across my term as President,

all of your mails with various thoughts and suggestions, as well as the interactions with all the committee members, the Board, the Executive, and the office have been pleasant and great learning experiences for me. I take this opportunity to thank everyone that was involved, and to send all my good wishes to Liz for her term as President.

**Sumit Chakraborty** 

GS President, 2022-23

### **VOLUNTEER APPRECIATION**

The Geochemical Society thrives thanks to the efforts of many dedicated volunteers. Our sincere gratitude goes to the following GS members whose board and committee terms conclude in 2023.

### **Board of Directors**

- Vickie Bennett (Australian National University)
- Allison T. Greaney (Oak Ridge National Laboratory, USA)
- Karen Hudson-Edwards (University of Exeter, UK)
- Christopher Junium (Syracuse University, USA)
- Cin-Ty Lee (Rice University, USA)
- Liping Zhou (Peking University, China)

### Organic Geochemistry Division Executive Committee

■ Hilairy Hartnett (Arizona State University, USA)

### Alfred Treibs Award Committee

- Sylvie Derenne (UPMC, France)
- Johan Weijers (Shell, The Netherlands)

### **Award Nomination Committee**

- Yemane Asmerom (University of New Mexico, USA)
- Vickie Bennett (Australian National University)
- Dorrit Jacob (Australian National University)
- Stefan Weyer (University of Hannover, Germany)

### C.C. Patterson Award Committee

- Yehudit Harlavan (Geological Survey of Israel)
- Yige Zhang (Texas A&M Univeristy, USA)

# Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee

- Francisco Apen (Princeton University, USA)
- Sumit Chakraborty (Ruhr Universität at Bochum, Germany)
- Anthony Dosseto (University of Wollongong, Australia)
- Kennet Flores (University of North Carolina Chapel Hill, USA)
- Steven Goldstein (Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory, Columbia University, USA)
- Nivea Magalhães (University of Exeter, UK)
- Jenny Middleton (Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory, Columbia University, USA)
- Zié Ouattara (University of Man, Côte d'Ivoire)

## Finance Committee

■ Vickie Bennett (Australian National University)

### F.W. Clarke Award Committee

- Fang Huang (University of Science and Technology of China)
- Gesine Mollenhauer (Alfred-Wegener-Institut, Germany)

### Geochemical News Editors

- Valerio Funari (Institute of Marine Sciences National Research Council ISMAR-CNR, Italy)
- Brian Haley (Oregon State University, USA)

## Geochemistry Fellows Committee (joint committee with EAG)

- Sumit Chakraborty (Ruhr Universität at Bochum, Germany)
- Wendy Li-Wen Mao (Stanford University, USA)
- Holly Stein (AIRIE Program, USA; University of Oslo, Norway)

# Joint Publications Committee (with the Meteoritical Society)

■ Caroline Peacock (University of Leeds, UK)

### Nominations Committee

- Frances Jenner (Open University, UK)
- Dewashish Upadhyay (IIT-Khargapur, India)

## V.M. Goldschmidt Award Committee

- Wendy Bohrson (Colorado School of Mines, USA)
- Ann Pearson (Harvard University, USA)

