

Meteoritical Society

http://meteoriticalsociety.org

SOCIETY STUDENT AWARD WINNERS

The GORDON MCKAY AWARD is given each year to the student who gives the best oral presentation at the annual meeting of the society. The award honors the memory of Gordon A. McKay and is supported by the McKay Fund, which was established in 2008 as a part of the Meteoritical Society's endowment. The McKay Award for the 84th Annual Meeting of the Meteoritical Society in Los Angeles goes to *Zoe Wilbur* (University of Arizona, USA) for the talk entitled "Unraveling the volatile story of reduced meteorites through djerfisherite". The award comes with a prize of US \$1,000 and a certificate.

The WILEY-BLACKWELLAWARD is presented for outstanding presentations by students at the annual meeting of the society. Wiley-Blackwell are the publishers of Meteoritics and Planetary Science and, for the 84th Annual Meeting in Los Angeles, they sponsored five awards of US \$500 each. The winners for 2023 include Sophie Benaroya (University of Alberta, Canada) for the presentation "Unraveling the crystallization history of poikilitic shergottite Northwest Africa 12002"; Catherine Harrison, (Natural History Museum, London; University of Manchester, UK), for the presentation "Fe-sulfides in experimentally and naturally heated CM chondrites"; Alissa Madera (Rutgers University, USA) for the presentation "Sector-zoned pyroxenes in young lunar mare basalt Northwest Africa (NWA) 8632: Insights into crystallization kinetics during late-stage volcanism on the Moon"; Peter Mc Ardle (University of Manchester, UK) for the presentation "The Qingzhen reaction - a finegrained mineral assemblage associated with djerfisherite in some EH chondrites"; and Leah Shteynman (Arizona State University, USA) for the presentation "Direct U-Pb measurements of reidite from Rochechouart impact structure".



Zoe Wilbur



Alissa Madera







Peter Mc Ardle

R Carl A

Leah Shteynman

Congratulations to the awardees for outstanding presentations! Additionally, thank you to *Alex Ruzicka* for chairing the committee and to these 41 individuals for their judging reports: *Jens Barosch, Helena Bates, Enrica Bonato, Aaron Cavosie, Hasnaa Chennaoui Aoudjehane, Cari Corrigan, Gererdo Dominguez, Emilie Dunham, Scott Eckley, Timmons Erickson, Tim Fagan, Ryota Fukai, Matt Genge, Sammy Griffin, Romy Hanna, Natasha Johnson, Jim Karner, Gunther Kletetschka, Piers Koefoed, Mizuho Koike, Nan Liu, Rhiannon Mayne, Kaitlyn McCain, Jennifer Mitchell, Angel Mojarro, Andrea Patzer, Nicolas Randazzo, Philip Reger, Alex Ruzicka, Elizabeth Silber, Justin Simon, Robert Steele, Melissa Strait, François Tissot, Allan Treiman, Tomo Usui, Lionel Vacher, Maria Valdes, Toru Yada, Bidong Zhang, Ke Zhu.*

We appreciate that we are able to celebrate the scientific contributions of our student members through these awards associated with our annual meeting.

IN MEMORIAM: HIROSHI TAKEDA

Hiroshi Takeda, an emeritus professor at the University of Tokyo, Japan passed away on September 11, 2023, just one day short of his 89th birthday. Globally recognized for his groundbreaking work in mineralogy and crystallography for solid Earth and planetary material science, Takeda's accolades are numerous. Notably, he received the Leonard Medal from the society in 2010. Back home



in Japan, he was honored with the Special Award during the Japan Mineralogical Society's 50th anniversary in 2002 and the esteemed 26th Manjiro Watanabe Award in 2009. His legacy was further cemented when a new Ca borate mineral was named "Takedaite" in his honor in 1995, and asteroid (4965) was dubbed "Takeda" in 2001. For his invaluable contributions to lunar sample studies and his research on meteorites for NASA, he was awarded NASA's Public Service Medal in 1996. Takeda was a highly accomplished researcher, studying many types of planetary materials, in particular, lunar rocks, HEDs, and ureilites. He was also a critical player in the Japanese lunar exploration program.

Takeda was active in academic organizations both in Japan and abroad, continuously showcasing the strength of Japan's solid planetary material science on the international stage. For our society, he was active in roles such as a council member (1981– 1986) and associate editor of *Meteoritics* (1988–1992). He was a chair for the Cosmic Mineralogy Working Group of the International Mineralogical Association (IMA) (1991–1995). In Japan, he served as vice-president during the founding of the Japanese Society for Planetary Science (1992–1996) and as a councilor of the Japan Mineralogical Society for two decades.

This is just a short list of Takeda's accomplishments, contributions, and accolades. Please see the full citation written by Takashi Mikouchi, Akira Yamaguchi, and Larry Nittler, at the Meteoritical Society website (https://meteoritical.org/news/hiroshi-takeda-1934-2023).

THE BARRINGER FAMILY FUND FOR METEORITE IMPACT RESEARCH

The Barringer Crater Company has established a special fund to support field work by eligible students interested in the study of impact cratering processes. The Barringer Family Fund for Meteorite Impact Research will provide a number of competitive grants in the range of \$2,500 to \$5,000 for support of field research at known or suspected impact sites worldwide. Grant funds may be used to assist with travel and subsistence costs, as well as laboratory and computer analysis of research samples and findings. Masters, doctoral, and post-doctoral students enrolled in formal university programs are eligible. Application to the fund will be due by 5 April 2024, with notification of grant awards by 7 June 2024.

Additional details about the fund and its application process can be found at: http://www.lpi.usra.edu/science/kring/Awards/Barringer_Fund.

RENEW YOUR MEMBERSHIP NOW!

Please renew by 31 March 2024; after that date, a \$15 late fee will be assessed. You can easily renew online at https://meteoritical. org/membership/join.